Skip to content

Becoming a Doll Maker (part 1 – patterns)

November 5, 2009

I suddenly have an over whelming desire to make a doll. It all started when I cleaned up and organized my craft room and found these doll clothes patterns which I have collected over the last few years.

I got them so I could makes clothes for my girls’ 18″ dolls, but I have yet to make a single outfit. So, I decided to make them some for Christmas, and I thought it would be fun to make some for my nieces as well since they are about the same age as my daughters. But, I haven’t a clue if they have an 18″ doll. That’s when I had my light-bulb moment…. I could MAKE them an 18″ doll to go with the clothes! A very adventurous idea since I’ve never made a doll before in my life, not to mention one that’ll require very specific measurements so it will fit the doll clothes.  Oh sure I could just call my sister-in-law and find out if the girls have any 18″ dolls, but where’s the fun in that?

So, what’s the first step in making a specifically sized doll? Measurements, right?!  Thankfully Sunny, Miss A’s doll, kindly allowed me to take her measurements so that I could get started on my project.

Once I had her measurements my next step was to draw out the pattern pieces. I realized then that I had NO clue how to draw a pattern that would achieve the shape I desired. So, the internet search began. I wasn’t able to find anything that was exactly what I was looking for but that’s really ok since I want to make my own pattern anyway. I did, however, find a doll named Nekomimi that is similar to what I want, so I decided to use her pattern as a sort of starting out point.

Since Nekomimi is only a 16″ doll I need to make my pattern pieces slightly larger. Also, I want my doll to have jointed limbs so I have to change the shape of some of the pieces, such as the torso, to accommodate the different style limbs. I’ve got a rough draft drawn out now and I’m hoping to make a prototype over the next couple of days.

So stay tuned.. lots more doll making craziness is on its way! 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Catherine permalink
    November 10, 2009 7:54 am

    I’m excited to see what you come up with! I have a bazillion doll patterns I have never used as well.

Leave a Reply

